Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

pe4 video file types ?

Mar 22, 2013 6:27 AM

I'm new to video production (and understand very little about computers)

I am using pe4 (most of what I do is trial and error)

I have video from 3 cameras that I have imported into one project. They are different formats (file types?) and show differently on the preview screen and on the television when playing a practice disc i burned

from my camera the files are  avi  and show as a normal picture filling the preview screen

borrowed camera 1  files are  vob and show the picture as squashed filling the preview screen & making everything tall and skinny

borrowed camera 2  files are  mpg and show the picture as normal but with a black area above and below picture in preview screen

I can live with picture from my camera and camera 2

But how do i change the camera 1 picture to normal and not squashed ?

Ta Graham

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 22, 2013 6:31 AM   in reply to 1958surferboy

You can not mix video types in version 4 of Premiere Elements. That was a feature added in version 11.

Version 4 is actually kind of primitive. I think you'll find most of your issues go away if up use version 11 instead.

(And, no, I do not work for Adobe and I don't make any money from your purchase. Your workflow just demands this upgrade.)

Meantime, in the short-term, you can right-click on the squashed clip in your media panel and select Interpret Footage. Change the Pixel Aspect Ratio.

This should solve your aspect ratio issue -- however, it won't resolve some of the other issues you'll see when you mix media from different cameras. In your output, for instance, you'll likely to see stutrrering or shakiness in some of  the video formats you've added.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 22, 2013 9:23 AM   in reply to 1958surferboy

Graham,

With PrE 4.0, and mixed footage, I would adopt a workflow such as this: