Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Catalogs? Folders? Collections? vs. Aperture Projects

Mar 23, 2013 4:53 PM

Tags: #lightroom4 #aperture_3

Forgive my denseness. I'm an Aperture user who is looking at Lightroom 4.

One of the features that I like best about Aperture is the very simple Project paradigm. I'm an advanced amateur (I don't market my stuff, but once in a while a publication will stumble across one of my pics and license it. Like this one <http://www.flickr.com/photos/primeval/5829530628/sizes/o/in/photostrea m/>, which appeared in a nature guide recently). I photograph a wide variety of things--from tiny creepy-crawlies to birds to architecture to astrophotography to garden-variety family snapshots.

TMI there. My point is that I like the uncluttered list of Projects in Aperture's left column; it could hardly be simpler. Projects: Arachnids. Chicago Astro-Imaging Seminar. Product photos for Mr. NNNN....

Catalogs? Folders? Collections? Which of these, if any, is the equivalent of Aperture's simple list of Projects?

This one little bit of info will get me off to a good start. Thanks!

David Illig

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 23, 2013 6:47 PM   in reply to dewisant

As I am not an Aperture user, I don't specifically know the answer to what is the equivalent of a Project (although I think I can guess)

However, I can rule out Catalogs and Folders (explained in a second), leaving Collections and also keywords as the only possibilities.