Skip navigation
WIBoiler69
Currently Being Moderated

Tips for importing large JPEGs into PE

Mar 24, 2013 6:29 PM

The short version of my question is that I am looking for the most efficient way to import a large number of very large JPEG still photos (with various pixel dimensions) into a Premiere Elements project with the best resulting image quality possible.  I have been frustrated so far with the resulting image quality.

Here’s some more detail.  I am brand new to PE.  I’m using PE 11 on Windows Vista.  I had been putting up with Windows Movie Maker for many years, but finally threw in the towel due to its ungraceful handling of AVCHD video.  I want to combine still photos with my home movie video in my projects and create DVDs for playback on an NTSC widescreen HDTV.

My JPEG still photos come from several different cameras, and I do a lot of cropping.  So the pixel dimensions vary quite a bit.  The uncropped pixel size from my DSLR is 4000x6000, so they are too big to import into PE.  I read that a good approach was to create a slide show in Organizer and import this into PE.  I used Organizer to create a WMV video slideshow with the highest quality settings.  The WMV video doesn’t look too bad when I play it back on my PC.  But I notice a significant degradation in image quality when I preview the WMV file in PE (compared to playing the file on my PC).  The resulting quality of a published DVD is even worse (played on either TV/DVD or PC).  PE selected HD 1080i, 1920x1080 for my project.