Skip navigation
TerraAustralis
Currently Being Moderated

InDesign CS5 Manual setting probs. Please Help.

Mar 26, 2013 4:19 AM

I am new to InDesign CS5 and cannot get the program to set text consistently. I have imported .rtf text from Word and created a Style to make setting adjustments easier. However I find some paras have not responded to the style correctly.

My style is 10mm First line indent, with full justification and last line ranged left right ragged.

Most of the text has set as described but several paras have ignored the last line ranged left and have set to full measure with ugly expanded word spaces.

I have tried to over-ride by highlighting the offending paras and clicking the paragraph styles in the Paragraph pallet window. The paras switch from centred to ranged left or right as one would expect, but the last line ranged left for the justified text stubbornly refuses to respond.

I checked my Styles specs to seek conflicts and found non. I have invisibles switched on to check keystrokes and can see no problems there. I have checked Preferences but cannot figure out which may cause this problem.

A clue may be that the offending paras will not accept a soft return. If I have a tight line and insert the type tool in front of the last word to turn it onto the next line of text, the whole word is spread the full width of the measure and the next line drops down refusing to accept the word.

My reference book for InDesign is the lucid Kvern, Blatner, Bringhurst book Adobe CS5.

Can anyone suggest what may be wrong please or point me to the correct section of the book to re-read as I have run out of ideas.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 26, 2013 5:54 AM   in reply to TerraAustralis

I've moved your question to the InDesign forum where you'l get a wider range of opinions.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 26, 2013 6:40 AM   in reply to TerraAustralis