Skip navigation
newbieeee
Currently Being Moderated

Div View Counter

Mar 26, 2013 8:00 AM

Tags: #counter #hits #hit_counter

Hi,

I need to count how many times a div is viewed. Most hit counters count how many times a page is loaded but I want to count how many times a div is viewed. There are different pages that this div is located on and I need to know how many times it is viewed in total...regardless of what page it is viewed on. Please help!!!! I have spent 20hrs on this and I'm a newbie in desperation.

Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 26, 2013 8:06 AM   in reply to newbieeee

How are you including this 'div' in each page? Regardless, your 'div' would need to include server side code that would update your counter database. Are you already familiar with server side scripting and database. An alternative would be to use a external counter service.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 26, 2013 9:22 AM   in reply to newbieeee

> the view counters should only increase when a div is actually viewed in a browser window and not when the page is loaded to make sure the div was actually seen

That can be done with Javascript - take the offset of the div on load, on window resize, and on window scroll to determine if it's within the viewable area, then if so load a server script with AJAX to increment the counter. (The div being in the vewing area doesn't necessary mean it is actially "viewed" by human eye though...)

--

Kenneth Kawamoto

http://www.materiaprima.co.uk/

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 26, 2013 11:38 PM   in reply to newbieeee

What you need is a trigger that will increase the counter.

There are two types of triggers that you can use

1. When the div is visible in the browser window like this

var div_offset = $('#div').offset();

if( div_offset.top < $(document).height() &&

div_offset.left < $(document).width() ) {

// div is within window bounds

}