Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

My web page centers in the design view, but not when viewed on line.

Mar 26, 2013 11:43 PM

Tags: #dreamweaver

I am new to web design and of course, to this forum.  I had some background in VBA and Fortran, so when the original designer left, I was the only one in the organization willing to tackle the website and try to teach myself how to make it work and keep it current.  We were financially in the red at the time, so hiring outside help would have been almost impossible.  We are finally breaking even now, which was our goal as a non-profit.

So I inherited the computer and the responsibility for maintaining the website at a non-profit organization for kids in Florida a couple of years ago, and I am doing pretty well with it so far, even though my depth of knowledge is very shallow.  AsI said before, I am entirely self taught, mostly by the trial and error method, so please excuse what is probably a very basic question. 

My website is FloridaBandTournament.com.

The site is working pretty well for my users, but from an appearance standpoint, the pages always are on the left side of the screen.  I would like to center the page(s) in the screen so that it looks a little better.  They are on a black background - not sure how the background got there, but it is working fine for me.  When I tried to center the pages, I googled my way to the statement text-align: center, and after placing it a couple of different places in the code, it suddenly seemed to work, at least in the in Dreamweaver 8 (I also inherited the software, which is I know is old, but so am I - will be 70 soon, and do my work for free for the organization).  But when I went to a couple of different browsers, it still displayed the website on the left.  I tried Firefox and IE.  I am at a loss as to what to do.