Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Square or non square pixels

Mar 29, 2013 8:47 AM

I am very new to After Effects and am completely unsure about which composition and preset Settings to choose. I want to create a slideshow to view on a SD LED TV although I have no idea which preset to choose: PAL DV, PAL DV Widescreen, PAL DV Squarew Pixels, PAL DVWidescreen Square Pixels.

Should I be working in 720x576, is it okay to view on widescreen TV??

Thanks in advance

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 29, 2013 5:57 AM   in reply to Curly12378

The actual SD broadcast spec always has anamorphic pixels. The square pixel equivalents are only meant for working easier. Whether you use widescreen 19:9 or 4:3 is entirely your choice. In any case, you might wanan do some reading on teh matter on a more general level...

Mylenium

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 29, 2013 6:42 AM   in reply to Curly12378

It is always best to work with square pixels. It is also always best to work at the maximum frame size you can reasonably expect to have need to use. For most projects today this means HD. The last decision is what frame rate to use. In PAL standard countries the minimum standard frame rate is 25 fps. Everywhere else the minimum standard is 23.976. There are other frame rate considerations for your main project that involve the kind of motion you are going to use. Generally speaking you get smoother motion with less chance of jittering or stroboscopic effects with higher frame rates.