Skip navigation
mswallace64
Currently Being Moderated

fixed layout epub CS6

Mar 30, 2013 6:48 AM

Tags: #cs6 #epub #fixed #html_pages

I'd like to create a fixed layout epub that I can download from my website. (free - not sell on itunes)

lynda.com covers cs5.5 - where i run into problems is exporting individual html pages from CS6. Are there any instructions for CS6? I'm working with horizontal and verticle layout.

Branched to a new discussion.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 30, 2013 6:53 AM   in reply to mswallace64

I don't think there is a Lynda.com title yet about using Fixed Layout in CS6. See if this free PDF guide from BISG will help:

http://www.bisg.org/publications/product.php?p=28&c=437

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 1, 2013 2:05 AM   in reply to mswallace64

I think the approach described in the course works the same way both in CS5.5 and 6. (I studied it in CS6). But there’s a faster way: ePubCrawler. After using it I had to make only minor adjustments to CSS styles in Dreamweaver.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 9, 2013 6:36 AM   in reply to Kasyan Servetsky

Yes, when I recorded my Fixed Layout EPUB course for lynda.com — one chapter of which was for InDesign users — CS5.5 was current.  The best thing about CS6 as far as fixed layout is concerned is that you can set any paragraph style to break up the pages, which makes life easier to create the separate XHTML files required by fixed layout epubs. But it's not an earth-shattering thing, or any reason to upgrade to CS6 just for your fixed layout epubs.