Skip navigation
DenverPhotographics
Currently Being Moderated

.swf video file won't play in browser.  Will play in live view & prev.  What type of video is best?

Apr 1, 2013 10:50 PM

I want to play a video with sound over top of the grunge background.  I mashed them up in Flash and exported as a .swf file.  It plays fine in live view and preview.  When I upload it doesn't work.  I am pretty sure I've uploaded all the files this time.  I appreciate the help.  I am a noob.  I would rather have the grunge background be transparent as well, as this has a white background behind the grunge.  What type of video is best to use on the web?

www.denverphotographics.com

Thank You!

Replies
  • Sudarshan Thiagarajan
    4,000 posts
    Oct 15, 2010
    Apr 1, 2013 11:06 PM   in reply to DenverPhotographics

Do you have a video file that is actually played by your SWF file? Some sort of avi, mp4, flv etc..?? I'm assuming you do because your SWF file is only 70~ KB and there is no other link to a video file from your source code.

|
    Mark as:
  • Sudarshan Thiagarajan
    4,000 posts
    Oct 15, 2010
    Apr 1, 2013 11:08 PM   in reply to DenverPhotographics

The 2nd part of your question - What format is best, I'd suggest you consider HTML5 and not Flash. Flash will not play on smartphones/ tablet devices. There are so many HTML5 video players out there, 2 of them I'd recommend:

http://www.videojs.com

http://www.pickleplayer.com/

You may have to give 2 or 3 files in various formats for cross-browser compatibility. Read here for more details: http://www.w3schools.com/html/html5_video.asp

|
    Mark as:
  • Sudarshan Thiagarajan
    4,000 posts
    Oct 15, 2010
    Apr 1, 2013 11:09 PM   in reply to DenverPhotographics

In Flash, did you 'Embed' video or 'Link' video?

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 1, 2013 11:13 PM   in reply to DenverPhotographics

Hi,