Skip navigation
JonITB
Currently Being Moderated

What could fix my speed issue?

Apr 7, 2013 5:03 AM

Tags: #speed #usb3.0 #5200rpm

Hi Guys, I recently bought CS6 Production Premium on a Student Discount - I got a new laptop earlier this year with the intent to use it for lots of my editing, however lots of the time when I am editing either 1080i (the format our school cameras record in) or 1080p from our Canon 650D, even with the preview quality set on 1/2 or 1/4, the video can become jumpy and out of sync with the audio, usually solved by stopping the video, rewinding and then starting again. I'm currently editing a production for my school, the videos of the camcorders were MTS files (AVCHD), which I edited separately at first in a multicamera sequence, then exported into a H.264 video for editing in a new sequence (I'm probably crazy doing it this way round, but I'm still learning Premiere Pro) and it can happen every few minutes. The specs of my laptop are below - it's a Sony Vaio, and I believe I met all the specs except the HDD speed (my question!)

Product ID : SVE1512C5E

Description : Laptop SV-E1512C5E - Configurable

Price  :               538,48

Memory : 6 GB 1600 MHz DDR3-SDRAM

Hard drive : 500 GB Serial ATA (5400 rpm)

Graphics : AMD Radeon(TM) HD 7650M 2GB

Battery : Battery life up to 4 hours

Keyboard Style : Backlight keyboard

Sony Creative software : No Imagination Studio Suite

Optical Drive : Blu-ray Disc(TM) writer

Wireless LAN : Wireless LAN (IEEE 802.11bgn)

Processor : Intel® CoreTM i5-3210M, 2.5GHz

Display : 39.5cm LED 1366 x 768 + webcam

Finishes : Black

McAfee Security Software : No protection

Adobe® Creation : No Adobe Creation

Adobe® Lightroom® : No Adobe® Lightroom 4

Microsoft® Office 2010 : Office 2010 Trial

Operating system : Windows 8

Language and keyboard : English (QWERTY)