Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Installing Flex SDK into Flash Builder 4.7 problems

New Here ,
Apr 09, 2013 Apr 09, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Im completely new to Flash Builder, today I have installed Flash Builder 4.7 & Flash CS6 from Creative Cloud for my son to start to learn game programming (with my help), I have used simple coding in web design however this terminology is new to me.

I bought my son the latest 'Foundation Game Design with ActionScript 3.0' book on recommendation but it was written when FB was version 4.5 so im guessing this might be the problem.

The book is very easy to follow but have hit problems at the beginning of the tutorials, the book talks about Flex SDK but it seems that FB 4.7 uses AIR SDK ?

So the first project called HelloWorld, we got up to:

Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 20.09.47.png

Got an exclamation mark which said

'The import flash.display.Sprite is not used

locally'

Continuing with the rest of the project the exclamation mark disappeared:

Screen shot 2013-04-09 at 20.08.19.png

However on selecting run- Debug we got a blank Flash Player window  ('generate HTML wrapper file' was deselected)

So either we've done something wrong, or the book and FB version are not compatible?

Any advice would be great!

Thank you

Latest ...

I thought that installing Flex SDK may solve the problem but after following instructions I have the error message, see image below. Really stumped now!

Screen shot 03.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 12, 2013 Apr 12, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using Fb for a few weeks now and I have recently experienced similar pain.

I recommend the article:

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/air/articles/ane-android-devices.html