Skip navigation
jahuerta26
Currently Being Moderated

How do you display database in Dreamweaver CS6?

Apr 10, 2013 4:58 AM

Tags: ##php ##cs6 ##windows ##dreamweaver ##database ##xampp ##classroom_in_a_book ##mysql

Trouble displaying 'greendata' database in Dreamweaver CS6

I am working on the exercise files for Adobe's Dreamweaver CS6 "Classroom In A Book", CH. 13 'Working with Online Data'. The problem I am facing is that the database provided in the exercise files ‘greendata’ is not being listed when I go to select a database.

I followed the specific instructions; but, I am still new to Dreamweaver and programming.

The MySQL Connection is working on the MySQL server 'localhost' with User name ‘root.’

I have XAMPP installed on my computer to run MySQL/PHP. I already checked localhost using my web browser to make sure that the ‘greendata’ is listed as a database; yet, it is not listed from the options when I try to set it up in Dreamweaver. 

How can I solve this problem? Please help! 

I need to have the 'greendata' database displayed from the list of options under 'select' within the MySQL Connection in Dreamweaver.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 10, 2013 5:38 AM   in reply to jahuerta26

I take it you have uploaded the 'greendata' database .sql file using phpMyAdmin to your local server?

jahuerta26 wrote:

I already checked localhost using my web browser to make sure that the ‘greendata’ is listed as a database; yet, it is not listed from the options when I try to set it up in Dreamweaver. 

I'm not aware that you can check to see if a database is uploaded via a browser, a folder was you thinking of?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2013 3:05 PM   in reply to jahuerta26

Review these Adobe tutorials

Setting up a PHP environment in Dreamweaver

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/dreamweaver/articles/setup_php.html

Building your first dynamic website – Part 1: Setting up your site and database connection