Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Can anyone give me some advice on databases?

Apr 11, 2013 9:12 AM

Hi All,

Ive recently created my first database in phpmyadmin so i am new to the whole process. Id like to some how apply a time limit of 60 days to the data that is uploaded to the table, after this time id like the data to be automatically deleted. Is this possible in phpmyadmin and can this be done without changing or making alterations to the code in Dreamweaver? Please see image below to see the structure of my database table.

Thank you for any advice!

screenshot.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 11, 2013 10:30 AM   in reply to Ness_quick

The best way would be to create a CRON job that would execute a SQL statement to delete the data based on the date. Your table would need to include a date column.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 11, 2013 10:40 AM   in reply to Ness_quick

Ness_quick wrote:

Hi All,

Ive recently created my first database in phpmyadmin so i am new to the whole process. Id like to some how apply a time limit of 60 days to the data that is uploaded to the table, after this time id like the data to be automatically deleted. Is this possible in phpmyadmin and can this be done without changing or making alterations to the code in Dreamweaver? Please see image below to see the structure of my database table.

Thank you for any advice!

It can be done but not without altering what you have already set-up. So do NOT proceed without making a back-up of your site folder and database.

Consider this:

You need to create another field in the database called 'date' and choose date as the 'type' for the field. In the date field obviously input the date the record was created. It will only allow you to input the date in this format: 2013-4-11 etc and you pick it from the date-picker in phpMyAdmin, which will pop up when you attempt to insert a date, so it gets inserted accurately.