Skip navigation
echanna
Currently Being Moderated

how can i save the acr changes i make to jpegs (not as sidecar xmps)?

Apr 20, 2013 9:19 AM

Hi Guys!

I have been a full-time pro photog for 16 years and yes, yes, I always shoot in raw.  Except on my cameraphone.    I am on a pc.  We have hundreds of pics that my family took on cameraphones on a recent cruise (when we didn't feel like lugging the pro gear around all day).  Some need some adjustments before printing.  My 16 year old is comfortable with the basics in ACR and went in there herself and started making her adjustments.  For MY wedding pics (CR2s), I have the xmps saved as sidecars and would like to keep it that way.  I am suspecting that her adjustments aren't being saved becuase of this?  If this is the case, I would be happy to change that setting (after 45 min I still can't figure out how!! i must have come across it but just am not seeing it!) temporarily for her for a day or two and then permenantly switch it back for my own editing purposes.  If that is not the case, please, please, please give any pointers!!

The adjustments show up in bridge after she makes them in ACR, but don't show up (dark pic still dark) when I open the pic anywhere outside of Bridge (such as when we email it to another computer to check it or in windows).  If we try to open in plain old CS5, ACR opens the file no matter what, which makes sense since the new info apparently isn't embedded into the file.

Yes, I can teach her how to do her adjustments in CS5 (rather than cs% Bridge and ACR) but she has a huge scrapbooking day planned with Grandma on Wednesday and living in FL, we are in the thick of our wedding season right now, so I don't have time to teach her.  If there is ANY way to get the ACR adjustments saved to the files?  Thank you soooooo much for any help!

Cher

Replies
  • Omke Oudeman
    3,998 posts
    Nov 27, 2004
    Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 20, 2013 4:35 PM   in reply to echanna