Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Your favorite After Effects?

Apr 23, 2013 8:18 PM

Hello,

I am new to After Effects. I know a little more about Premiere Pro as i started when CS5 Came out.

I decided to join Adobe Cloud...so much good stuff!

Question:

The Project i am working on is for a DVD with around 90 minutes of edited video.

The video is going to be more of beautiful Back ground video and beautiful music.

I want to add some great Special effects to the videos scenes of Ocean waves,

Great Shots in Peru of Machu Picchu, Carmel , Ca Sunsets, Hot air Ballons, Cabo etc

Wondering what some of this forums favorite effects might be for some of the shots?

I have gone through most of Lynda.com's after effects training and have played with some of the effects

there are so many!!!   I like glows, and light rays, sparkles, gels etc.

I am open to buying some extras if you know of some good presets. At this point i dont have a lot of time to play

Any ideas would be great

Thanks,

Soshman

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 23, 2013 11:26 PM   in reply to Soshman

What kind of special effects? There are legion. From overlays, to color effects, to transitions. I usually find that the most important part of any project is the timing and pace of the project. The least important part, and the part that can quickly make a presentation look amateurish, are special effects and fancy transitions.

Figure out what story you want to tell and then use your editing skills to enhance that story. A pixie dust transition with lots of movie magic never was the defining moment of a story.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 24, 2013 12:46 PM   in reply to Soshman

Please understand that the questions you ask are a matter of personal taste. 

Every designer has his or her own notions of how things should look.  If you ask for specific effects to use in AE, you will get standard answers.  These will probably be tricks that have been used over and over again.