Skip navigation
reaganistads
Currently Being Moderated

Converting to .jpg to print (RGB vs.CMYK)

Apr 24, 2013 5:40 AM

Tags: #help #color #cmyk #rgb #printing #cs6 #.jpg

Hi all,

I am fairly new to adobe and all things it has to offer. I am slowly learning how to do everything myself.  I am currently using CS6. I made myself a 16x20" poster in Illustrator, converted it to a .jpg using the export menu. I put it to my flash drive and printed it out at a local fed ex office. When converting it to jpg, I kept it in CMYK color mode, and set it to be at the highest resolution and the highest quality file I could have.

Now, I made another poster for a friend and did the exact same thing.  Instead of taking her .jpg somewhere to get printed, she is trying to upload it to a photo printing site (walmart, snapfish, shutterfly) to get it printed and mailed to her. Her poster keeps getting errors on the photo uploading site saying it is corrupted and not a valid file type.  I was confused, so I tried messing around with the illustrator file a bit, I ended up changing the color mode to RGB when I converted it to a jpg (I still made the artwork in CMYK mode). This uploaded fine to all the photo sharing sites, and was also half the size of the original .jpg (12 MB vs. 24).  So then I googled it, and came across a website that says printers only print in CMYK.  So if that is the case, what will happen when she prints this poster?  And why won't these photo uploading sites allow me to upload a poster that is in CMYK mode? If printers only print in CMYK, you would think it wouldn't be a problem.

On a side note, when I try to upload the CMYK .jpg image to Fed Ex office online, it perfectly uploads.  So maybe this is just a problem with simple photo uploading sites?

Thanks for the help!  Again, I am fairly new to illustrator so I don't understand color modes much or much else.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 24, 2013 6:02 AM   in reply to reaganistads

reaganistads,