Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Do I need Toast?

Apr 25, 2013 10:47 PM

I'm on a Mac running OSX 10.6.8. I've just received a special offer form Other World Computing to buy Toast 11 Pro for $49, but I have to decide by the end of April just a few days away. I was put off buying Toast last year when I purchased the Adobe Master Suite because of many poor reviews on Amazon, and because a cursory look at the Encore PDF suggested I would be able to burn Blu-rays from there. But, I've noticed a few comments in this forum saying that people don't use Encore's burning capabilities because the burn speed can't be varied.

I'm a complete novice to Premiere and Encore, working my way through the Premiere manual but not having touched Encore yet. So I need some guidance from experienced users. Given that as far as Blu-ray disks are concerned I will only be burning videos, not data, and that I'm using a Mac:

1. Is using the Blu-ray burning capabilites within Encore a reliable solution?

2. What are the pros of using Encore to burn a Blu-ray?

3. What are the cons of using Encore to burn a Blu-ray?

4. Does anyone using Encore use Toast, and what are the pros and cons?

5. Are there any other options for burning Blu-rays out of Premiere, other than Encore and Toast?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 26, 2013 5:45 AM   in reply to Guy Burns

Most of us frequent helpers in the Encore forum are PC. There does not appear to be as robust a free burning solution for Mac as ImgBurn is for PC. It is not accidental that most of us do not burn with Encore. But some of that is that I don't even try from earlier generations of Encore and hardware. In a variety of tests, I haven't had a failure in CS6.

Someone might be able to answer #5, but I don't recall such a solution.

Since hardware configuration can be a variable, in addition to getting what answers you get here, you should do some tests and see what you get.

|
    Mark as: