Skip navigation
RoseyMagnolias
Currently Being Moderated

Edges not smooth after recoloring

May 1, 2013 5:07 PM

Tags: #edges #blur

I am a novice in photoshop and I've been going crazy trying to accomplish what seems to be an easy process. I received an illustrator file of a logo that I'm trying to work on...it has several issues that I'm trying to fix...in photoshop because I have no idea how to use illustrator.

My major issue is recoloring parts of the image while keeping the edges smooth. It's currently brown and I just need it black. I have tried the following methods:

Magic wand the brown part and create a new layer via copy

-using brush to simply paint over it

-using paint can to fill the selection - anti aliased, I've changed the tolerance a million times

Use straight paint brush to trace over it, using a soft edge brush

-my hand isn't steady enough to do it

Magic wand and create new layer then do and over lay

Converting it to black and white

-it turns gray

Adjusting layer hues, contrast, etc

I've googled how to soften edges and have found nothing that accomplishes the simple task of changing it to black... Please help!! :-|

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 1, 2013 7:44 PM   in reply to RoseyMagnolias

If you are looking to keep the smooth vector edges found in the original Illustrator file... You should be editing in Illustrator.

|
    Mark as:
    May 2, 2013 2:39 AM   in reply to RoseyMagnolias

Can you post an example?

|
    Mark as:
    May 2, 2013 5:09 AM   in reply to RoseyMagnolias

Magic wand the brown part and create a new layer via copy

Using an anti-aliased Magic Wand selection as the Mask of a Layer above the original anti-aliased content can easily result in edge issues.

Often it is better to use the Channels to »reverse-engineer« the »objects«.

|
    Mark as:
    May 2, 2013 7:26 AM   in reply to RoseyMagnolias

I have no idea how to use illustrator...which is why I'm trying to do it in Photoshop.