Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

To Cloud or not to Cloud (Nikon D7100)

May 3, 2013 11:56 AM

Tags: #bridge_cs5 #cs6 #d7100

I have a Nikon D7100 and posted awhile ago about Camera Raw.  I finally went and purchased the cloud so I could have CS6 since my previous copy of CS5 was not going to be updated to contain my D7100 camera profile. 

So I've been using the cloud and CS6 and am now wondering if I really need all this just so I can have my photos load in Adobe Bridge.  Yes, it's convenient to have them in there so I only have to click on camera raw, but I'm not sure the monthly cost is worth it.  I don't use ANY of the other adobe products that come with my monthly payment.  No, I don't use lightroom.  I am a casual photographer, trying to get better of course, but I'm wondering if I need all this!

I just tried using ViewNX2 to open all my raw photos.  I saved the photos to *.tiff and then opened CS5 Adobe Bridge and voila.  It works.  Can anyone tell me if I'm missing out on something by doing it this way?  It seems I could avoid this monthly cost by going with this workflow.

Thank you!

Replies
  • Omke Oudeman
    3,999 posts
    Nov 27, 2004
    May 3, 2013 4:12 PM   in reply to LauraMacky

Can anyone tell me if I'm missing out on something by doing it this way?  It seems I could avoid this monthly cost by going with this workflow.

Yes you are missing out a lot because I get the impression you don't know yet the benefit of shooting Raw over jpeg. This is a learning curve that can be made as steep as you want but basically I can tell you that shooting Raw and save as a tiff without having used the options that are provided with ACR and Photoshop to get the most out of it is not the best workflow.