Skip navigation
DalStar1999
Currently Being Moderated

Straight lines become zig-zag when viewed in Premiere Elements 11

May 5, 2013 3:42 PM

I am sure there's an easy answer to my problem but I can't seem to locate it. I am new to video editing and Premiere Elements 11. I have a Sony HDR-CX200 that I use specifically to record tennis matches. I have a recorded a tennis match in 1080i at 60i fps that was transferred from the camcorder to my Window 7 computer using Sony's PlayMemories software which creates a .m2ts file. When I viewed the .m2ts video in both PlayMemories and Windows Media Player the video looked great. I want to be able to view the video in HD on both computer monitor and tv.

I imported the .m2ts file into Premiere Elements 11 using drag and drop.The file appeared to impotrt without any issue and the still pic looked good. However, when I pressed play the pic broke up. You can easily see this in the tennis lines which start out straight but when played they break into a zig-zag look. I have attached a short video that shows this problem. I want to be able to edit my tennis videos in Premiere because I've already just paid for it and it's suppose to be one of the best video editing programs out there.

I have looked over discussions of interlacing but don't understand why the pic only looks bad when played in Premiere Elements and looks good in Windows Media  Player and Sony's PlayMemories. I wonder if there is some setting I am overlooking.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 5, 2013 4:07 PM   in reply to DalStar1999

So far, this is a guess.

Viewing and playback of a video is a medium difficulty task for a computer.  Taking the same file into an editing situation is a high difficulty task.  Editing AVCHD video, is an extra high difficulty task for a computer.  It is doubtful you will work your computer harder doing anything else.