Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Perpetual licenses are dead

May 6, 2013 12:57 PM

Tags: #adobe #creative #suite #licensing #cs6

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1001_3-57582735-92/adobe-kills-creative-suit e-goes-subscription-only/

I disagree that this move is that popular. I would rather have a perpetual license so that I can update the applications while I am not in the middle of a project.

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 6, 2013 1:19 PM   in reply to mhollis55

This is an interesting development.   Creative Cloud updates are optional. You don't have to accept them in the middle of a project any more than you have to accept updates to Perpetual Licensed software.  Do it when you're ready.

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as:
    May 6, 2013 2:38 PM   in reply to mhollis55

An unsurprising (some would say expected) move but interesting timing. I've been expecting this for 12 months.

However I do wonder how many perpetual license users will stay on CS6 or look elsewhere.

I would rather have a perpetual license so that I can update the applications while I am not in the middle of a project.

Not sure why this myth seems to hang around. You can always update whenever you're ready. It's your choice.

http://www.adobe.com/products/creativecloud/faq.html#how-works

As a Creative Cloud member, am I required to install an upgrade to a desktop application when it becomes available?

No. You are not required to install any new version of the desktop applications available in Creative Cloud. You can continue using your current version of the product as long as you have an active membership. You have flexibility on when you install a new release to take advantage of new product features, if you choose to do so.

The downside of updating seems to be when Adobe springs unwelcome Trojan-horse-style surprises on unsuspecting users.