Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How can I afford to use Photoshop when it costs $600/year?

May 7, 2013 8:33 AM

Tags: #ps #cc

I am a hobby photographer.  I have used Photoshop 4, 5, and 6.  Using Photoshop has generally cost me about $100/year or $200/2 years.

I, as is true of many hobby photographers, have enjoyed using PS to edit my images. I use only PS from the Creative Suite.  I use functions  that only PS provides, such as, layer masks.   It seems I must stick with Photoshop 13 (CS5) and hope that there will be addons to keep it current.  Any other suggestions?

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 7, 2013 8:58 AM   in reply to vince heying

vince heying wrote:

It seems I must stick with Photoshop 13 (CS5) and hope that there will be addons to keep it current.  Any other suggestions?

PS13 is CS6, but your hope will not be realized as there will be no updates to it.  Gimp?

|
    Mark as:
    May 7, 2013 9:14 AM   in reply to vince heying

For many non-power users the additon of new bells and whistles is not an incentive to buy.  Many would be very happy with Photoshop 7 if it was compatible with current OS and compters.  The real stinker seems to be the need to keep ACR current as many buy new cameras and want to shoot RAW.  One can convert to DNG format, but for many that is not an attractive proposition.  Currently there is no answer how long CS6 ACR will be updated.

|
    Mark as:
  • Noel Carboni
    23,488 posts
    Dec 23, 2006
    May 7, 2013 9:24 AM   in reply to vince heying

You may have missed some details.

It's $9.95/month for the first year, $19.95/month after.  I read that as $120/year then $240/year.  I'm not sure where you got your $600 figure.  This is for a single product:  Photoshop CC with what used to be Extended functionality (there are no longer two editions, you always get 3D).