Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Boycott Creative Cloud?

May 7, 2013 12:41 PM

If you haven't heard, CS6 is the last CS version. From now on, you have to rent your applications via the Creative Cloud. I don't like the new subscription model. I have bought every CS upgrade since version 1, but it looks like CS6 is the end for me, even if it means keeping an old computer around just to run CS6 applications.

Perhaps Adobe would change its mind in a few months if most everyone avoided signing up for the subscription. In any case, they've created a real opportunity for competitors.

Replies 1 2 3 ... 10 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 7, 2013 5:40 PM   in reply to Mike Wickham

Don't know about a boycott, but I'm not subscribing. I'm a serious photography hobbyist, I typically upgrade Lightroom whenever it updates and I upgrade Photoshop every couple of years. No more; the prices are too high. I've read similar comments from other hobbyist users, and I suspect there's a lot more of us than there are pros. Maybe Adobe thinks they can afford to lose the hobby market. Adios, Adobe.

This is irksome. My birthday is coming up, and I was working on seeing if SWMBO would spring for the Photoshop CS6 upgrade for a gift. Then I discover this crap.

This is a great opportunity for some company. Perhaps Creative Cloud will be Adobe's Windows 8.

|
    Mark as:
    May 7, 2013 6:01 PM   in reply to aardvarkie

Boycott? Well, I won't call it that, but this is pretty much the last straw for me.

I've been a PS user and fan since PS 3 on a pc and have upgraded every step of the way...increasingly grudginly as the price rose and the ability to put it on my imac and 2 macbooks was reduced to 2 only, then the prices started soaring, then online only (not really a problem for me), now subscription only --- no *&^%$#@# way.