Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Photoshop CC-cloudy thinking

May 8, 2013 6:20 AM

I use P/S CS6 and Lightroom 4. As a photographer I have had no interest in the other products. It looks as if there will be no CS7, and I will have to "lease" any forthcoming improvements to CS6.  The intro *sucker price* has no relationship to the price in a year or two. A very good deal for Adobe's cash flow, not appealing to me.  As a loyal Adobe customer since 1994, This is very disappointng and it looks like I will stick with CS6 for the foreseeable future.  But I will be keeping my eyes open for other non-Adobe substitutes.  This is an ideal time for other developers to come into the market. I have to think there will be thousands of unhappy Adobe customers.  If I have this wrong, I wish someone would talk me back from the ledge.

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Noel Carboni
    23,526 posts
    Dec 23, 2006
    May 8, 2013 6:50 AM   in reply to gerry

I respect your dislike for the subscription model, but...  You could consider taking advantage of the intro Photoshop-only subscription price ($9.99/month), then you could consider canceling your subscription after one year (after which you could continue to use your current CS6 license). 

You'd get a year of use of the newest features for $120.

Who knows, maybe by then changes will have been made to the pricing structure that will make it more attractive to continue.

-Noel

PhotoshopOnlySubscription.png

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 8, 2013 7:14 AM   in reply to Noel Carboni

I am not an early adopter with electronics or software.  As a prime responder you know all too well of new versions of drivers and updates that cause problems.  But I assume that since the software is stored on your computer it does not provide automatic updates.  So for us late adopters we could still elect to wait on updates and see how well they work before hitting the Update button.