Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

most efficient way to browse MTS files

May 8, 2013 4:06 PM

I have been using mts for about 2 years now.

when i get my sd car out of my cameras i usually dump and then browse in Premier.

However this is getting quite old and it takes a hell of a long time to go thru 5-10 sd cards this way.

Is there an app that i can use to view the mts files like its a qt movie?

with .mov i can just plug the card into my sd reader and browse within finder. dont have to import or open an nle.

I know that .mov is native in osx but is there a way of getting some plug that would allow my mac to treat the mts the same?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 17, 2013 8:13 AM   in reply to Preditor Corbett

I use Bridge for this.

|
    Mark as:
    May 16, 2013 6:19 PM   in reply to Preditor Corbett

I think you need CS6 for it to work.

|
    Mark as:
    May 17, 2013 6:58 AM   in reply to Preditor Corbett

I use VLC:

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html

Free, works on Mac/Windows, opens parts of spanned clips, will open anything (even horribly corrupted files!).  I don't advocate using it to convert (though some people do) but it's great to look at things fast

Allynn

|
    Mark as:
    May 17, 2013 7:06 AM   in reply to Preditor Corbett

Did you update the Bridge.

In the Bridge MTS has been supported for quite some time now.

|
    Mark as:
    May 18, 2013 1:13 PM   in reply to Preditor Corbett

name them right in bridge

That may not be a good idea.  Ideally, you should leave everything in the PRIVATE folder intact and unaltered.  Changing anything can sometimes interfere with PP's handling of that media.

|
    Mark as:
    May 20, 2013 6:42 PM   in reply to Preditor Corbett

Like I said, there are times when changing something can cause PP you not work with the media as designed.  Spanned clips, as one example.

It is a pain to have multiple 0001.mts files, but that's the reality we all deal with.

|
    Mark as: