Skip navigation
Skurias
Currently Being Moderated

Match Frame in Multicam

May 9, 2013 4:44 AM

Tags: #frame #match #multicam

Hello,

i am a proffessional video editor. I use Avid Media Composer for about 12 years.

Two weeks ago i began to try Premiere Pro CS6 and i have a question about the multicam feature.

I can say that you `ve done good work!

Although i need your help.

I needed to use match frame on the sequence so i could find the sourse footage and didnt work...

It always gave me the multicam source frame, but i wanted the original source frame.

Is there any such feature?

Thanks in advance!

Stavros

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 9, 2013 7:01 AM   in reply to Skurias

Interesting... I thought I had a work-around but I just tested it and it doesn't work!  Hopefully someone else can expand on this.

I know that the "match frame" will always show the multicam source (not the original clip source) because a multicam sequence is looked at as a nest.  What I **thought** (and was wrong) was that by opening the multicam nest in the timeline and performing a "match frame" on that, the original source frame would be found.  But it wasn't.  In fact, it didn't do anything.  Now I'm thinking it was "confused" because thre were (in my test) three video tracks open and enabled.  But even if I disabled everything but one track, the "match frame" still didn't work.

One thing that will work (though it's more trouble than it's worth), is to use match frame to locate the timecode in the multiclip and then type that into timecode indicator of the multiclip nest in the Timeline.

|
    Mark as:
    May 9, 2013 8:20 AM   in reply to Skurias

A Match Frame on the nested, edited sequence will bring up the original multicam sequence with the clips.  From there you can target the track you need and do another Match Frame to bring that clip into the Source Monitor.

|
    Mark as:
    May 9, 2013 8:38 AM   in reply to Skurias