Skip navigation
americanprinting1
Currently Being Moderated

How do I enter sequential numbers, three per page?

May 15, 2013 11:15 AM

I'm making auction bid numbers which are three to a page, and my document is 100 pages long.  I need sequential numbers from 001 to 300.  How do I do that?!  The only sequential number entry in the Index talks about page numbering, which won't work for me because I need three numbers per page.  I tried to make a new variable data entry, but I can only ever get it to say 001.  I'm new to InDesign, but I really don't want to make 300 text boxes and then go in one-by-one and change the numbers.  There must be some way to do this...

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 15, 2013 11:20 AM   in reply to americanprinting1

Search Google for terms like "InDesign numbered tickets" without quotes.

HTH

Regards,

Peter

Peter Gold

KnowHow ProServices

americanprinting1 wrote:

I'm making auction bid numbers which are three to a page, and my document is 100 pages long.  I need sequential numbers from 001 to 300.  How do I do that?!  The only sequential number entry in the Index talks about page numbering, which won't work for me because I need three numbers per page.  I tried to make a new variable data entry, but I can only ever get it to say 001.  I'm new to InDesign, but I really don't want to make 300 text boxes and then go in one-by-one and change the numbers.  There must be some way to do this...

|
    Mark as:
    May 15, 2013 11:41 AM   in reply to peter at knowhowpro

Peter G.'s suggestion will probably locate any number of posts about this on this forum -- I know I've given some fairly extensive answers here myself.