Skip navigation
priddye
Currently Being Moderated

Question about Photoshop scratch disk and specific setup

May 19, 2013 6:01 AM

Tags: #windows_7 #pc #scratch #ssd #scratch_disk #photoshop_cs6

Hi Folks

Thanks for the help in advance.

I'm a novice and need help finding a solution to a new PC Build. (Windows 7 Pro 64bit with Photoshop CS6)

I only recently found out about having a scratch disk dedicated for photoshop (very novice i know ), and was wondering if a 120-128GB SSD would be enough? (Please bear in mind I can't fit large SSD raid configs to my budget, plus I live in New Zealand, so prices are higher for SSD at the moment). 

I only edit single camera RAW files at a time around 25mb per file, with no large amount of layers and very rarely do large images i.e. Panorama etc.  I have searched the forums but could not find a concrete answer.

My setup was originally meant for a HTPC (I don't intend to overclock), but I will also be using it for light photography projects. Specs below:

CPU: Intel i7 3770

Mobo: Asrock B75 Pro3-M (or Asus P8H77m Pro, depending on budget)

16gb Ram (maybe bump up to 32gb later)

120-128gb SSD for OS and apps

120-128gb SSD scratch disk

2 TB HDD for storage

If anyone knows, the motherboards I've listed have 3x Sata3 ports, Asrock has one Intel chip and two Asmedia controlled Sata3 ports, while Asus has 2x Intel controlled and 1x Marvell controlled Sata3 port.  If I went with the Asrock, would it be okay to connect the OS/Apps SSD to the intel controlled sata3 port and have the scratch disk and storage HDD to the Asmedia sata3 ports?

And one more novice question, when I begin to edit my images, is it best to transfer my photos from memory card to storage HDD then work from there? Or would it be quicker opening images direct from a USB 3.0 card reader / USB 3.0 external hard drive?

Thanks again everyone, really appreciate it

Replies
  • Noel Carboni
    23,478 posts
    Dec 23, 2006