Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Website Design Has Become TOO Difficult,

Jun 13, 2013 1:40 AM

Is it me, or is website design WAY TOO difficult? Granted, I'm a 3D Artist, and I have a conceptual mind, I just can't figure out why it's so difficult to get a page up and running the way you want it.

1. The folder structure for your root folder is too complicated - there are just too many folders and interlinking html pages.

2. The HTML language is too complicated - do I really have to know all these tag selectors and what's the difference between a class and id?

3. If you want to get anything done, you need to know javascript... great, another language.

4. Now there's cascading style sheets! This has to be linked to your html documents.

5. Every version of Dreamweaver, something gets created and something gets thrown out - things don't work with older versions

I am not whining here, I am just trying to point out that in order to get a page up and running, you have to jump through a number of hoops to get there. Why isn't there a website designer that is simple to use? Dreamweaver has gotten too crazy - the stage is too complicated, too many links, too many buttons, it just needs to be completely overhauled - streamlined, and made easier.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 13, 2013 2:03 AM   in reply to sclouston

DId you need help with something or are you just "venting"?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 13, 2013 5:31 AM   in reply to sclouston

I think DW is near perfect, really. As a web developer professional, it seems right on task for me. Now I might say the same things as you if I were struggling with Photoshop, or some 3D application. The secret is to learn the language and the techniques.  Yes, CSS is hard, but it's an essential piece of web site development....

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 13, 2013 5:33 AM   in reply to sclouston

Hi