Skip navigation
LessZoa
Currently Being Moderated

"animated jpg" is back

Jun 13, 2013 1:14 PM

Tags: #facebook #jpg #animated #hoax

I've been using Photoshop since v2.5 and in all my years of of creating & manipulating digital images (both still & animated) I am all at once stumped by this "animated jpg" thing:

http://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/32461_3913032946 74_1672798_n.jpg

When I look at it, I "see" gif - the colors are indexed and I should know, I've built enough of them in my time - can spot an indexed image worlds away.

Do note, yes, I've read this thread:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/636367

Which still doesn't explain HOW "animated files" are being passed around Facebook as an _image_ not a bit of javascript or quick CSS trick for those are dissallowed in FB posts. Even an iframe cannot be used in a post (I tried).

Now, I am not a stupid person - and I am a web developer by trade. I understand code, dream in html5 now, and eat java for breakfast, lunch & dinner with a side of c# when hankering for a snack and php for desert. I'm a certified RedHat technician so am very savvy when it comes to how the web works. I also manage the social media accounts for my employer - I am no stranger to Facebook's limitations, developments and laws.

I am baffled by this.

I've downloaded the image, redid the extension - photoshop still expects a jpg file and reports an error: "... invalid JPG marker type ..."

It won't open at all in photoshop. I've even tried some open source software I have, and is all a no go.

Windows Previewer displays a still image (puppy's eyes wide open), yet when I open the downloaded image in a web browser (Chrome), that puppy is blinking at me. Firefox the same, but NOT IE9 - IE9 doesn't even see the pic. Interesting...

I've opened the FB-hosted image in another browser window, checked source/elements... well, Chrome says its a jpg and the puppy is blinking at me..