Skip navigation
funialovska
Currently Being Moderated

What Program Can I Use To Write Children's Music Book?

Jun 16, 2013 11:45 PM

Ok, I am desperate in need of some professional advice.

I am writing a method book for children, it involves many images, big, small, different sizes... and very little text. 

I have been writing my drafts on Word but soon realized that Word will not help me in organizing my layout. I also have music excerpts which I write on Finale. I need to know if InDesign would be an ideal program to put files from Word and Finale together, and make a consistent layout throughout. I just downloaded the InDesign trial, and I am having trouble using it, but I am new to it, so if someone says InDesign is going to be ideal to put things together, I will learn it for sure. If anyone also has a good site or book or youtube link about how to organize a book on InDesign to recommend for total new beginner like me, I will be grateful! Another technical question would be, how can I import my files from Finale and Word to InDesign?

Hope to hear from someone soon...... hello.. someone.. help...

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 17, 2013 12:33 AM   in reply to funialovska

Hi

Adobe InDesign is a complex and professional publishing application. It will easily produce artwork for the kind of book you are describing, including placing your Word files and illustrations. (I understand Finale will export musical notation as JPGs.)

You have to decide whether you want to invest the time in learning this program, and subsequently dealing with printers etc, or whether you should approach a local graphic designer and get them to do the design and artwork for you.