Skip navigation
robyn7623pa
Currently Being Moderated

How do I make a complicated background transparent?

Jun 18, 2013 5:43 PM

Tags: #novice #transparent_background

I am a complete novice, and I got photoshop to make the background transparent on pictures of furniture.  I am having problems because the background is so complicated.  Can anyone help direct me as to the best way to do this?  I've only tried selecting different parts of the background with the quick selection tool, and then deleting (after adding another layer), but I'm not getting good results.  I see others talking about the lasso, magnetic lasso, layers, masking, etc, but I don't know where to start.  I need to learn quickly because I'm on a deadline, so if someone could just point me in the right direction? Please!!

Here's one of the pictures I need to do:  (one of the most complicated)  All I need to keep is the table and four chairs in the foreground.

035.JPG

Replies
  • Trevor Dennis
    5,941 posts
    May 24, 2010
    Jun 18, 2013 6:11 PM   in reply to robyn7623pa

Wow.  You seem to be straight in at the deep end.  Just how much do you need to include in the selection?   The nearfield dark furniture is going to respond well to an alpha channel mask using a copy of the blue channel.  This was the first videa hit with Google, and I didn't watch it (he has an irritating accent)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CNDElaqcQY