Skip navigation
Janet Hosmer
Currently Being Moderated

Rapidweaver to Dreamweaver

Jun 19, 2013 8:34 AM

Tags: #rapidweaver

I have been using Rapidweaver for many years on multiple sites, and want to convert to Dreamweaver.

Is this possible?

Error prone?

Thanks!

Janet

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 19, 2013 8:39 AM   in reply to Janet Hosmer

May we please have a link to one of your sites to examine the code?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 19, 2013 8:45 AM   in reply to Janet Hosmer

HTML is just text. Any HTML page can be opened by DW since DW is really just a text editor (thus it can open javascripts, CSS, and many other types of files). If your Rapidweaver sites are just a collection of text files (and their associated dependent files) saved in a folder on your local hard drive, then all you would have to do is to define a DW site that points to that folder as its local root.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 19, 2013 8:47 AM   in reply to MurraySummers

Be aware that DW is NOT a "Code-Free Creation" application (as Rapidweaver claims). You will be expected to bring some HTML and CSS familiarity to the DW desktop, or else your learning curve will tedious and frustrating.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 19, 2013 11:35 AM   in reply to Janet Hosmer

Wow! Over 26 stylesheets! So that's what makes Rapidweaver work...

Frankly, I'd take the site, consolidate all of the stylesheets into one just to start.

It didn't catch the fact that you have an ampersand in your title. That will fail W3C validation. You need to assemble that character by using the following: &

Rather than using styling, Rapidweaver chooses to insert styles inline. That is really bad practice.

I am confused by the following:

<span style="font:13px &#34;Hiragino Kaku Gothic Pro&#34;,&#34;ヒラギノ角ゴ Pro W3&#34;,&#34;Osaka&#34;,&#34;MS Pゴシック&#34;,&#34;MS PGothic&#34;, sans-serif; color:#760101;"><br /></span>