Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

1080p 29.97 to Blu-ray

Jun 20, 2013 10:25 AM

I have a project shot at 1080p 29.97 and this is my first attempt to export it for Blu-ray.  When I select the H.264 Blu-ray Format in Export Settings, there is no Preset matching the source format.  It looks like the best options are:

1. 1080i 29.97 - Would I lose resolution this way?  Is 29.97i actually 59.94 fields/sec with even fields on one pass and odd fields on the next (which would be parts of the same frame because it was shot progressive) or am I only going to get 540 lines of resolution?

2. 1080p 23.976 - How bad would artifacting be if I change the frame rate?  Would Twixtor do this perfectly or at least much better than Premiere?

3. 720p 59.94 - This would preserve the original frames (doubling them) but I would have less than half the resolution.

I notice the MPEG2 Blu-ray also does not have a format that matches the source but if I select Match Source Attributes (High Quality) the Summary lists the Output as 1920x1080, 29.97 fps, but doesn't indicate whether it's progressive or interlaced.  I just checked Wikipedia and it appears 1080p 29.97 is not a valid Blu-ray format.  So is the MPEG2 converting to interlaced without expliciting telling me in the Summary Output?  Is H.264 going to look better than MPEG2 (that would be my guess)?

Bottom line, what is the best option for highest quality output given the source material I'm using?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 20, 2013 10:28 AM   in reply to illucine

Encore Import Formats http://forums.adobe.com/thread/622722 should help by showing what is possible for a BluRay

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 20, 2013 11:12 AM   in reply to illucine

You are going to have to do some experimenting.

Get yourself a few rewritables and try all kinds of settings (presets) and see what looks the best.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 20, 2013 11:23 AM   in reply to Ann Bens