Skip navigation
WickG0ld98
Currently Being Moderated

PiP inside a thought bubble?

Jun 20, 2013 10:31 PM

Tags: #premiere_elements_11 #picture_in_picture #thought_bubble

Let me preface my question by saying that I just downloaded the trial version of Premiere Elements 11 today, so I'm VERY new to it.  I've been able to muddle my way through most of what I want to do thus far by viewing MANY tutorials, but now I'm stuck.

Is there a way to:

1) add a thought bubble to a video (I managed to do this!)

2) fade out the text inside the bubble

3) replace the faded text with another video

4) expand the thought bubble video to full screen?

My whack at it:  I used the PiP effect and plunked my video on top of the thought bubble, but the bubble is somewhat rounded and the PiP video is rectangular so it looks weird.  I would prefer the video to play INSIDE the thought bubble, clipped to fit.  I was also able to add a key frame to the PiP and expand it to 100%, but it doesn't fill the frame all the way.  Not sure why.

I'm trying to portray a dog thinking a thought (that the audience can read in the thought bubble), then visualizing it (the PiP video), and then have that thought become center stage (full screen).  If I could add some "dreamy" fade in effect too (dissolve? blur?), that would be great too.

I guess another option would be to have the thought bubble exapnd to full screen, then ripple into the thought video.  But, I don't know how to do that either!!

Any help would be much appreciated!!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 21, 2013 5:18 AM   in reply to WickG0ld98

You could certainly get the shape and dreamy effect using the Track Matte.

But it's a pretty high-level tool. If you know how to use it, I can tell you how to create the effect you want. If not, it may be a bit too complicated to explain on this forum.