Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Layer Panel View in PSD & AI file import in Flash CC?

Jul 4, 2013 2:00 PM

Tags: #view #import #layer #psd #panel #importing #ai #flash_cc #import_psd #layer_panel_view

Hi guys,

You guys at Adobe, you have always done a exelent job. I love all your software. Your reputation is brilliant.

However I would like to encourage you to add Layer Panel View into Flash CC as it was in CS6.

I just got installed Dlash CC and I have found out that I can't use it for what I do.

The new features and black interface are all great, I love them. The only thing that bothers me are the features which were dropped from previous versions. It's really something that forces me to use Flash CS6.

I'm a flash game developer and I do stuff all around graphic assets preparation in Photoshp & animations in Flash.

This is my CS6 workflow:

In Photoshop

1. I prepare all graphics in Photoshop. I also set the folder structure already in Photoshop so when I import in flash, everything is as I need it and I don't have bother with nesting movie clips or distributing symbols to layers. 

Then In Flash

1. I press import to library in Flash, locate the PSD and then I'm setting stuff in the Layer Panel View in Import Window
  2. I select the layers I want to import (this way I don't have to modify the PSD in Photoshop everytime I import, also, sometimes I forgot to turn off visibility for some layer and I do it while importing)
  3. i set the quality individually for selected assets  (timesaver but I ll have to check it again anyway in the asset's properties)
  4. i set the Registration (center) of the symbol individually as I need it for each symbol (huuuuuuge timesaver, not having ability to do this is a CC killer to me)
  5. i set instance names for selected clips (timesaver)
  6. i select which folders I want to import as symbol (huge timesaver)
  7. ... now I press import.