Skip navigation
Gavino_22
Currently Being Moderated

Wierd error when porting code from HTML to Desktop Application - Drag and Drop MouseDown Function

Jun 22, 2013 3:44 AM

Tags: #error #flash #4.5 #actionscript #!flash_builder #drag_and_drop #air_application #mousedownhandler

Hi,

Im quite new to Flex, and actionscript3 in general so apologies if some of my explanations are unclear or lacking in some common sense.

Basically Ive written a small, working drag and drop test application which works perfectly under the HTML (i.e. non 'desktop AIR') version of Flex Project. When testing I have no errors and all code works as expected.

However, when I port the code across to a new desktop application (Which is necessary for the build I am doing), I get a persistent error over the "mouseDownHandler()" event:

Error 1023 - Incompatable override

Error 1024 - Overriding a function that is not marked for override

I have traweled the web and the only thing Ive got is that something present in the Desktop Application / AIR environment has a function named 'mouseDownHandler' and thus I could be referencing a duplicate function.

All I need to do is use the mousedownhandler for a simple drag and drop interaction so any ideas, or solution or even a cheap workaround would be massively appreciated!

Affected code here:

<s:WindowedApplication xmlns:fx="http://ns.adobe.com/mxml/2009"

xmlns:s="library://ns.adobe.com/flex/spark"

xmlns:mx="library://ns.adobe.com/flex/mx">

<fx:Script>

<![CDATA[

import mx.controls.Alert;

import mx.core.IUIComponent;

import mx.core.DragSource;

import mx.events.DragEvent;

import mx.managers.DragManager;

//user clicks the src, so allow drag

// ERROR here:                    

private function mouseDownHandler(e:MouseEvent):void {

DragManager.doDrag(e.currentTarget as IUIComponent, null, e);

}

]]>

</fx:Script>

<fx:Declarations>

</fx:Declarations>

// just something random here for the sake of debugging