Skip navigation
gdp2015
Currently Being Moderated

How can I create a map in Illustrator that has proportional curves

Jul 8, 2013 3:45 PM

I need to create a map, connecting different parts of the world, with curved lines that have a specific thickness when compared to each other, similar to this print screen: http://i41.tinypic.com/2ry29ac.png

How should I go about doing it? I am completely new to Adobe Illustrator, and I am using the mac Version

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 8, 2013 4:08 PM   in reply to gdp2015

Ther's no automatic way to create this in Illustrator.

Most probably this graphic has been created with software like processing or other dedicated graphing software/packages.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 8, 2013 4:29 PM   in reply to gdp2015

You would need to know the amount of traffic per route and calculate the line weights accordingly.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 8, 2013 11:22 PM   in reply to gdp2015

Sure it's possible. Ther line widths/ stroke weights would simply be percentages of the real maximum value and its associated stroke width or relate to an idealized value that equals 100%. Simply school grade math. As for your install issues - nobody can help you without hard technical info like system specs and the exact errors. Just saying that it doesn't work is not useful in any way.

Mylenium

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 9, 2013 3:34 PM   in reply to gdp2015

gdp,

You can create simple stroke/nofill paths by ClickDragging with the Pen Tool, clicking at the start (and then end) position and dragging in the start (and then end) direction; you may adjust underway (you may hold the Spacebar to move the current Anchor Point about with the Handles locked), and afterwards. Then you can set the Stroke Weight to the desired width for each path. Splits may be made as independent paths, branching out either gently (as in UK to Canada/US or abruptly as in US to Other Europe and France).