Skip navigation
moongirlcw
Currently Being Moderated

Creating flowable text in box for epub

Jul 10, 2013 10:15 PM

Tags: #text #epub #flowing_text #object_resizing

I'm new to creating epubs and am using InDesign CC.

I'm trying to create flowable text within a box. I want the box to always remain the width of the column and the text to reflow within that.

Been trying a million things and can't find a tutorial. Help!

Thanks.

CW

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 10, 2013 10:36 PM   in reply to moongirlcw

A text frame in InDesign when exported to EPUB, does not have a height and width associated with it to support text reflow. If you want to have a text frame with fixed height, this is what you can do:

1. create a blank text frame

2. create another text frame, fill with text and anchor it to previous one.

3. select the text frame(created in step-2) and set Autosize-Width only from text frame options

4. export to epub

Since the main text frame is blank, epub will contain just one text frame and since it is anchored it will have fixed width.

Regards,

Pooja

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 10, 2013 11:50 PM   in reply to moongirlcw

I think the grey box now will be of fixed width if autosize width only is set on it. No need of a blank text frame now.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 11, 2013 1:38 AM   in reply to moongirlcw

Ok...I got your problem now. You can edit your epub to remove width attribute on inline anchored text frame. It is pretty simple:

1. Download Sigil (It is an open source EPUB editing tool)

2. Open your epub in Sigil

3. Open CSS (idGeneratedStyles.CSS) and remove the width attribute on the div class.

There must be block like this:

div._idGenPageItem-1

{

background-color:#009fe3;

width:422 px;

}

Remove width from this block and save.

Hope you get the expected result after this step.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 11, 2013 11:11 AM   in reply to moongirlcw