Skip navigation
kippolata
Currently Being Moderated

Premiere elements loss of quality complete beginner sorry!

Jul 13, 2013 11:51 PM

Right, so I edited my video initially in windows movie maker.....quality on export was good with a sharp picture etc. I then imported this video into elements (converting it first into an mpeg) as my elements was having problems with wmv file import showing only half the video. In the view window when editing the video is reduced quality but I thought this would correct itself with rendering.... It didn't. I e tried all sorts of different settings, maximized the quality of export, selected hd settings for export and still the quality when exported is really rubbish and no longer sharp and clear.....any ideas anyone? Thanks! X

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 14, 2013 5:57 AM   in reply to kippolata

Unfortunately, you have compressed your Video several times, so quality will definitely suffer.

First, WMM compressed the Video quite heavily. WMV files are designed for delivery of streaming media, and not to be re-edited. Then, when you went to MPEG-2, you re-compressed that Video, loosing even more quality.

If you are not using Windows Movie Maker Live (only allows Export to WMV), Export to DV-AVI, and Import that file into PrE 4.

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 14, 2013 6:28 AM   in reply to Bill Hunt

Bill say "If you are not using Windows Movie Maker Live (only allows Export to WMV), Export to DV-AVI, and Import that file into PrE 4."

I think what he meant to say was that, since Windows MovieMaker Live only outputs WMVs, that you should download the "classic" version of MovieMaker from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=34

This version of MovieMaker will output your movie files at DV-AVIs. You can even use it to convert your WMVs to DV-AVIs. Just add the WMV to the MovieMaker timelline.