• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to align fine parallel lines with coordinate system?

Jul 24, 2013 Jul 24, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not sure how to explain this. Please pardon my code if it is bad or my terminology if it is wrong, as I'm a novice ps programmer.

What I'm trying to do is draw a pattern of vertical lines, which I want to be based on a resolution of 100 dpi. If I write "72 100 div 1 scale" then I have changed the coordinate system so I have an effective horizontal resolution of 100 units per inch, is that correct? Is this the correct way to change the resolution of the coordinate system? In other words, can we really change the resolution of the user space (irrespective of the device space)? I understand that there are actually no dots in user space and dots do not actually exist until rasterization, but please pardon my use of the term dpi to mean units of the coordinate system when I refer to the user space.

My goal is to render graphics that will come out accurately on a printer. Since most laser printers have a resolution that is a multiple of 100, then I reason that during rasterization lines sized in multiples of 1/100" will be precise (e.g. @600 dpi, 1 user space unit = 6 device space units or dots). This is to avoid rounding errors resulting from converting from 72 dpi to say 600 dpi. Does this make sense? Is this a sound premise?

If I'm on the right path thus far, then I use the following code to render a series of vertical lines which alternate between one unit and three units in width separated by spaces of one unit:

/w 1 def

20 {currentpoint w 20 rectfill w 1 add 0 rmoveto /w w 2 xor def} repeat