Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Elements 4 crashes when I try to use menus

Jul 31, 2013 9:28 PM

Tags: #crash #menus #elements_4

I have been working with Elements 4 for several years without much problem. All of a sudden, if I try to add a menu to a completed video, the program crashes.  No error message, it just closes.  The only way to get it to restart is to re-boot the computer.

I tried to go back to a previously completed project that had menus and tried to open that, but Elements crashed before it even gets the project open.

I can import footage, edit, add titles, do just about everything, but if I try to add a menu, it crashes.

I tried running a software repair from my Premiere Elements disc, but that didn't help.  I also did the same with the menu templates, but that also was of no help. I have the most recent driver for my video card.  Any thoughts on why I suddenly can't add menus or open projects that have menus?

Here are the basics of my system:

HP Desktop Pavilion Elite m9650f

MS Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2

CPU - Intel Core i7 920  @ 2.67GHz

RAM - 8.00 GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 532MHz

Graphics - ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series (XFX Pine Group)

Hard Drives -   733GB Seagate ST3750528AS (RAID)          

1954GB Hitachi Hitachi HDS723020BLE640 (SATA)

Optical Drives - HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH40L

Audio - Realtek High Definition Audio

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 1, 2013 1:52 AM   in reply to LRN1301

When did you last run Disk Cleanup and the Defragmenter on your computer?

And don't forget to ensure you have the latest version of Quicktime as well as the latest graphics card drive from the ATI or nVidia web site.

There could also be interference from the RAID setup on your C drive. RAID is generally considered an obsolete way to set up a drive and it can cause problems with more intensive processes.