Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

help a new guy

Aug 1, 2013 5:55 PM

Hi Guys,
I am new to DW CC and have a question about fluid grid sites.
I create a new fluid grid site and in the phone view I create a new fluid div tag. In that div I place an image. On that image I wish to put some text on to it and I cannot figure out how to do it. I wish to place the text in a certain spot on the image. Is there a tut or a way to help me?
Thank you

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 1, 2013 6:01 PM   in reply to fluidgridguy

fluidgridguy wrote:

I create a new fluid div tag. In that div I place an image. On that image I wish to put some text on to it and I cannot figure out how to do it. I wish to place the text in a certain spot on the image. Is there a tut or a way to help me?

You don't insert an image in the DIV; Instead use a background-image property of CSS to get what you want. Your text goes in the normal way in the DIV and this can then be positioned "at a particular spot".

Hope this helps.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 2, 2013 2:49 PM   in reply to fluidgridguy

Depends on what you're looking for. Background-images won't re-scale with the fluid grid layout.

Another option is to open the image in your graphics editor and add a text layer.  The only downside to having text in images is that it wont be "seen" by search engines, translators and screen readers.

If you need more help, please post a link to your test page so we can see it in our browsers.

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 2, 2013 6:24 PM   in reply to fluidgridguy

fluidrgidguy,

fluidgridguy wrote:

But my question is if I wish to put text in the cake image how do I?

To do this, use an image editing app such as Photoshop to put text on image.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 3, 2013 9:11 AM   in reply to fluidgridguy

This is likely to fail for 2 reasons.  1) APDivs or Layers are removed from the normal document flow.   2) Text won't re-scale with the image.

Nancy O.

|
    Mark as: