Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Who Uses DW? And, I Could Not Answer The Question.

Aug 19, 2013 5:36 PM

I was in conversation with a friend recently and mentioned I was taking a DW tutorial and thought it was really nice. I mentioned that I could easily see a corporation or professional developers using DW. So, my friend asks me, "Who uses DW? Can you show me a website?" And, of course I could not answer.

Can someone show me an example of a large website(s) developed with DW without upsetting developers or the company? I have NO doubt that thousands of examples exist, but since I am new to DWCC I could not give examples.

Thanks,

David In Texas

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 19, 2013 7:09 PM   in reply to DavidInTexas

Large [corporate] websites are built by teams, and some of those team members may use Dreamweaver, while others will use different development tools. In my work, I often collaborate with others on websites and we NEVER ask each other which development tool we are using because it doesn't matter, unless version control (to keep track of who did what on which page or script) is an issue.

Dreamweaver is a tool for general web development and front end development (what the site visitors see). It's a fine tool, but large websites generally involve database integration, which means server side scripting, and DW is not the prime tool for this, although it can be used for such work.

So if you want to know if a large and wonderful website can be built using just Dreamweaver as the development tool, the answer is yes in theory but unlikely in practice.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 19, 2013 7:33 PM   in reply to DavidInTexas

But, certainly there are development groups that use DW for there customers

Low-end "development groups," I guess, maybe.  But why would a team of developers of large sites force themselves to use ONLY Dreamweaver for development? That doesn't make any sense. Is there a point to this?

|
    Mark as: