Skip navigation
forttrell
Currently Being Moderated

Moving clips around unsuccessful- horrible results!

Aug 23, 2013 7:15 AM

Hello- I am a teacher moving from Adobe Premiere Pro to Elements (10) because my district cannot afford the Pro version for my classroom (I was using Pro 6.5).  I have met with quite a few frustations as this doesn't work the way Pro does (duh- it's hundreds less, right?)  So, I have all my clips on my timeline and now I want to move them around and reorder them (sometimes tweeking the length, etc.)  Normally I would push everything over to the right to make a space, move the clip I want into the space and them move everything back to the left until it meets up.  Except I cannot move things over, they never make a space.  They all move together.  RRRRRrrrrrrr.  And my song file keeps getting chopped into bits.

My first issue was asked and answered by someone here (the current time marker line wasn't moving when the project is viewed).  I'm hoping someone knows how to help me so I can start school with a full head of hair (otherwise, it's all going to be pulled out).

Thank you for your time and smarts.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 23, 2013 7:21 AM   in reply to forttrell

Premiere Elements is definitely going to work very differently than Premiere 6.5. In fact, Premiere Pro works very differently than Premiere 6.5, since Premiere 6.5 is well over 10 years old -- a lifetime as software goes.

What you are dealing with is called ripple editing, and it's just a matter of learning to work with it (or holding down the Ctrl key when you don't want it to happen).

Meantime, have you checked out my free 8 part Basic Training tutorials?

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/537685?tstart=0

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 23, 2013 8:26 AM   in reply to forttrell

Help-and-Tutorials page http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1275830 may help

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 23, 2013 8:58 AM   in reply to forttrell