Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

How do I download and install MPEG-2 TS Codec for PE7.0 ?

Aug 28, 2013 6:07 PM

Please help!

I recently bought a Hauppauge HD PVR 2 gaming edition and it captures video in the MPEG-2 TS format however I can't import these files into Adobe Premiere Elements 7.0 because I get the error message that the proper Codecs aren't installed.

I've done a google search in an attempt to figure it out and I downloaded something called G-Spot because another forum said it was the solution but I have no idea what it does or how it works so its basically useless to me. I've spent the past 2 hours trying to find a solution and I keep coming up with nothing.

I have very little knowledge about codecs and stuff like that so I need some expert step by step instructions on how to get these MPEG-2 TS files working in my PE7 program!

I appreciate any and all help, thanks in advance!

-Zomb-e

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 28, 2013 6:16 PM   in reply to ZOMB-E

G-Spot is an AV file information utility. It will survey your system, to tell you which CODEC's are installed, but it's main purpose is to identify the properties of an AV file.

Now, I would start with Hauppauge, to see if they offer their CODEC's.

Also, remember that there are three uses for CODEC's, Playback, Encoding and then Editing. All will not work everywhere. See this FAQ Entry for more detail: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/546811?tstart=0

It could well be that the Hauppauge MPEG2 version of the CODEC, will not work in PrE. It just depends.

Good luck,

Hunt

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 28, 2013 6:53 PM   in reply to ZOMB-E

ZOMB-E

The gspot utility is an excellent utility for sorting out the type of issue that you present. There should not be any problem downloading, installing it, and using it.

Did you download from:

http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

Did you have any problems installing it. It should be straight forward.