Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

AFX CC - RAM management

Aug 30, 2013 4:08 AM

Hello,

with after effects CC it still seems like the multi CPU rendering is not always working properly..

When i render a sequence on a dual 6 core Xeon (24 threads) with 48 GB of RAM, it starts very fast and the CPU usage is between 95 and 100%. The amount of used RAM grows fast until it is completely filled up and then it gets realy slow. The CPU goes from 15% to 100 and back to 0.. stays on 0... from 0 to 15 to 0..and some times to 100%. Like its always cleaning only enough ram to render the next bunch of frames, which makes it very slow.

I am not a programmer but isnt it possible to clean up RAM constantly like every multi CPU 3D rendering program?

Or is the problem somewhere else?

Best,

David

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Aug 30, 2013 6:49 AM   in reply to Shader3d

What settings do you have for your multiprocessing, CPU cores, and RAM allocations?

Check out the info here.  It's written for CS5, but still applies to CC.  If you're rendering with all 24 threads, you probably don't have enough RAM.  Check out the "Don't starve your software of RAM" article.  For HD video, you'll want at least 2GB (preferably 3GB) for each thread.

|
    Mark as:
    Aug 30, 2013 6:53 AM   in reply to Shader3d

isnt it possible to clean up RAM constantly like every multi CPU 3D rendering program?