Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Export a PDF with Imposition and wraparound

Sep 17, 2013 8:11 PM

Tags: #indesign_cs5.5

Hi everybody,

I'm a relative newbie here, and I apologize for that.  I'm looking for some help in CS5 with imposition.

Specifically:

I created a 28 page booklet, 8.5x11, for a client that has 28 pages.   Same booklet as last year.  However, this year, the client - to save money - wants to print on tabloid paper.  So an 8.5x11 format needs to convert to 17x11.

The printer they have chosen wants the inDesign document as a PDF.

Two unique problems:  one, how do I export to PDF a document that allows for imposition.  And two, the front and back cover are wraparound (a single image). 

Or, more concisely, how do I format this correctly?  And can it be done in a single file?  Or would a second file be required to handle the wraparound of 1 and 28?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 17, 2013 9:48 PM   in reply to dean5432

I am confused on what you mean by saving money by printing on 11 x 17. Do you mean set the pages up in the signatures as in the outside and inside cover would be pages 1-28 and 2-27. Is it a 11x17 folded down to 8.5 x 11? if so then it really shouldnt matter if you leave it in the letter format and the printer should be able to set up the actual print pages. I run a digital/offset print shop and could do it with either file at the same cost, I would actually prefer to have the single pages. You could take 7 sheets of paper, fold them in half all together like a little book, number the pages then set up a file 11x17 and place the pages where they go on each sheet if thats what they want and say it saves you money.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 17, 2013 10:51 PM   in reply to dean5432