Skip navigation
Dennisp@cuesinc.com
Currently Being Moderated

Cylinder animation

Sep 20, 2013 7:59 AM

I'm a newbie and hoping this group can help me.

I want to learn how to take for example a flat item think of a photo and have it go from flat and roll up into a cylinder.  The camera view would show it happen and then the camera view would move thru the cylinder.

Here's where I get "confused"  LOL

I know how to make a 3D cylinder in Photoshop Entended and show the 3D tools but taking that and creating the animation in AE is where I get confused.  Again I'm a newbie really want to learn and appriciate any imput!!  Do I create in AE, Photoshop....  I'm good at Premiere so I understand timeline, keyframes, etc... so that should help I hope

I would like to shot this going from flat to a cylinder with the split at 6 oclock.   Ok show this newbie  :-)

Thanks!!!!!

Pipe cylinder sample.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Sep 20, 2013 9:55 AM   in reply to Dennisp@cuesinc.com

What version of AE are you using?

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 20, 2013 10:52 AM   in reply to Szalam

Cs6. Premium suite

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 20, 2013 1:40 PM   in reply to Dennisp@cuesinc.com

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 20, 2013 2:09 PM   in reply to Dennisp@cuesinc.com

That feature will create a half-cylinder, but not a full cylinder.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 20, 2013 2:48 PM   in reply to Todd_Kopriva

That's why the video gives a workaround for making a full cylinder.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 23, 2013 8:32 AM   in reply to Dennisp@cuesinc.com

This link explains how to get a full cylinder out of it.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 25, 2013 4:43 PM   in reply to Szalam

This work around just seems to make a double or two of the same.  I need a complete cylinder with the skin/image going a full 360.  I'm tiring to learn how to show it unrolling so the image goes from a flat into this cylinder view.

|
    Mark as:
    Sep 26, 2013 8:50 AM   in reply to Hardrockchina