Skip navigation
jarvigo
Currently Being Moderated

Code Editor Problems in Dreamweaver CC

Sep 22, 2013 3:57 PM

I decided to upgrade from DW CS6 to CC over the weekend, and since doing so --

I feel like I've lost 1/2 my hair due to what appears to be a *SIGNIFCANTLY* down-graded code editor.

#1.  Code Editor is Very Slow:

All of a sudden there are these long, slow lag times as I use the editor.

In fact, just doing simple things like using Arrow keys to move up or down a line of code causes pauses.

#2.  Curer / Arrow Key Problems:

I have been a programmer for over 15 years.  I stopped reaching for the mouse more than 10 years ago.

But now -- I can no longer use my arrow keys -- TO... DO... ANY ... THING -- It's, well... horrible.

As soon as I use the arrows keys for ANY type of movement -- the cursor disppears completely.

I can't see where I am cursoring from or to...

And I just want to know -- who would purposely add that kind of logic to DreamWeaver?

Why ?  Whyi would you make the cursor DISAPPEAR when the arrow keys are used?

It's like -- an odd form of "programme torture".

#3.  Ctrl Arrow Related Keyboard actions ARE GONE

Why?  I mean... Why?  WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT???

In using DW CC everthing that makes me a fast & furious highly capable programmer -- has been wiped out.

Yes -- I undersstand that there are alot of cool new, mobile device realted features, etc. etc...

But is there a reason you wish to punish the real old-school programmers?

I WRITE CODE -- That's what I do --

Now I can't Ctrl Arrow Left or Right to jump forward word by word,

I can Ctrl Shift Arrow R or L to highlight and change word-by-word code.

I wanna know -- and don't get me wrong -- I LOVE Adobe products and I they are open all day and all night on my work computer --

But still -- I WANN KNOW --

Did Adobe hire a "new team" of young, developers who have only used a mouse and Facebook all of their very short professional ilves?